Euro 2020- UEFA Team of the Tournament

Cristiano Ronaldo, the Golden Boot winner at Euro 2020, was left out of UEFA’s Team of the Tournament, which was dominated by finalists England and Italy.

The starting lineup was goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma, defenders Leonardo Bonucci and Leonardo Spinazzola, midfielder Jorginho, and winger Federico Chiesa, who was voted Player of the Tournament.

After a 1-1 extra-time stalemate in Sunday’s final at Wembley, Donnarumma stopped two England penalties en way to a 3-2 shootout victory for Italy, which won the Euros for the first time since 1968.

READ MORE : Sports minister “proud” of D’Tigers after 23-point blowout of Argentina

England’s right-back Kyle Walker, centre-back Harry Maguire, and forward Raheem Sterling were also nominated to UEFA’s technical observer team’s squad of the tournament.

The top 11 players included Spain’s Pedri, who was voted Young Player of the Tournament, as well as Denmark’s Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg and Belgium’s Romelu Lukaku.

Sterling scored three goals for England, while Lukaku netted four goals for Belgium, which was eliminated in the quarterfinals by Italy.

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy), Kyle Walker (England), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy), Harry Maguire (England), Leonardo Spinazzola (Italy), Jorginho (Italy), Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Denmark), Pedri (Spain); Federico Chiesa (Italy), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium), Raheem Sterling (England)

Follow us on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *